|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Georgia Wage and Hour Investigations: What you need to know

Employers must maintain records of the hours worked and the wages paid to each employee covered by the Georgia Minimum Wage Law. Those records must be open to inspection by the state Department of Labor commissioner (or his or her authorized representative) at any reasonable time, and upon demand, the employer must provide a sworn statement of the hours worked and the wages paid (GA Code Sec. 34-4-5).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
The commissioner has the authority to request witnesses to appear and to produce pertinent records for examination. If a person does not cooperate with such a request, the commission can ask the superior court to order the person to cooperate (GA Code Sec. 34-5-4).
Minimum wage violations. An employer that fails to pay an employee the appropriate minimum wage at any time within the last 3 years may have to pay the difference between the amount paid and the applicable minimum wage, an additional amount equal to the original claim, costs, and reasonable attorney's fees (GA Code Sec. 34-4-6).
Wage discrimination on the basis of sex. It is illegal for an employer to discriminate against an employee, solely on the basis of gender, by paying that employee less than an employee of the opposite sex. In a civil action, the employer may have to pay the unpaid wages and costs and a reasonable attorney's fee of up to 25 percent of the judgment. A fine of up to $100 also applies if an employee is discharged or discriminated against for making a wage discrimination complaint, causing such a proceeding, or testifying in such a proceeding (GA Code Sec. 34-5-5).

>> Read more about Wage and Hour Investigations

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Georgia Wage and Hour Investigations Resources

Wage and Hour Investigations Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!