|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Idaho Wage and Hour Investigations: What you need to know

Employers in Idaho must let the director of the Department of Labor enter their places of employment, question employees, and investigate facts, conditions, or matters to determine whether any person has violated the wage payment laws. When presented with the director's written request for employment records, employers must provide the information. The director has the power to administer oaths and issue subpoenas to compel the production of wage-related evidence (ID Code Sec. 45-616).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Terminated employees. If an employer fails to pay all wages due to a terminated employee, compensation must continue at the same rate until paid in full or up to 15 days, whichever is less. However, the maximum penalty cannot exceed $750 (ID Code Sec. 45-607). In court, the employer may have to pay the unpaid wages plus up to $750 in penalties or up to three times the amount of unpaid wages, whichever is greater, as well as costs and attorneys’ fees (ID Code Sec. 45-615).
Minimum wage. The director of the labor department may bring action in court to force compliance with the state's minimum wage law (ID Code Sec. 44-1508).
Child labor. Employers who violate the state's child labor laws regarding hours of work must pay a fine of up to $50. If the employer continues to violate the law, the employer must pay up to $20 per day for every day the violation continues (ID Code Sec. 44-1305).
Wage discrimination on the basis of sex. Under certain circumstances, an employer that pays employees of the opposite sex at different pay rates for comparable work is in violation of the law, even if there is a written agreement between the employer and the employee. The employer may have to pay the affected employee the amount of their ...

>> Read more about Wage and Hour Investigations

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Idaho Wage and Hour Investigations Resources

Wage and Hour Investigations Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!