Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Iowa Wage and Hour Investigations: What you need to know

If the commissioner of labor receives a written wage complaint about a particular employer, the commissioner may enter the place of employment to inspect wage and payroll records, question the employer and employees, and investigate other relevant facts in determining whether any person has violated the wage and hour laws (IA Code Sec. 91A.9).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
If an employer intentionally failed to pay wages due to an employee or to reimburse certain expenses, the employer may have to pay the amount due, plus damages, court costs, and attorney's fees. If the violation was not intentional, the employer doesn't have to pay damages; just unpaid wages, court costs, and attorney's fees (IA Code Sec. 91A.8).
Discrimination because of wage claim. Employers may not discharge or discriminate against an employee because that employee filed a wage complaint, assigned a claim, filed a suit, or cooperated in bringing action against the employer. Any employee may file a complaint with the commissioner, alleging discharge or discrimination, within 30 days after a violation occurs. The commissioner may conduct an investigation. If the commissioner determines that an employer inappropriately discharged or discriminated against an employee in such a situation, the commissioner will take the matter to district court, and the court may order the employer to rehire or reinstate the employee to his or her former position with back pay (IA Code Sec. 91A.10).
Civil penalties. Employers that violate the state's wage payment provisions are subject to a civil penalty of up to $500 per pay period for each violation. When determining the penalty amount, the commission considers the size of the employer's business, the seriousness of the ...

>> Read more about Wage and Hour Investigations

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Iowa Wage and Hour Investigations Resources

Wage and Hour Investigations Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!

This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave

Download Now!