Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Kentucky Wage and Hour Investigations: What you need to know

Employers must maintain and keep on file for at least 1 year employee records that include the wages paid to each employee per pay period and the hours worked each day and each week. The labor department has the authority to inspect those records and make a transcription, at any reasonable time; and every employer, if requested to do so, must provide a sworn statement of those records (KY Rev. Stat. Sec. 337.320).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Questioning employees. Employers must let the commissioner (or his or her authorized representative) question any employees in their place of employment during work hours (KY Rev. Stat. Sec. 337.340).
Wage discrimination. In cases of suspected wage discrimination on the basis of sex, the labor commissioner may enter a place of employment to inspect and copy payrolls and other employment records, to compare character of work and operations, and to question employees. The commissioner may examine witnesses under oath and require by subpoena witnesses' attendance, testimony, and the production of relevant documents. Failure to appear or to produce the requested information will be considered contempt (KY Rev. Stat. Sec. 337.425).
Any employer that violates Kentucky's wage laws may face a fine of $100 to $1,000. Violations include:
• Failing to pay employees according to wage payment, minimum wage, or overtime provisions;
• Discharging or discriminating against an employee because that employee has made a complaint, has testified, or is about to testify in any wage proceeding;
• Willfully hindering or delaying the labor commission's investigation;
• Failing to keep and preserve required records;
• Falsifying records; or
• Refusing to make any record or transcription accessible to the commissioner ...

>> Read more about Wage and Hour Investigations

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Kentucky Wage and Hour Investigations Resources

Wage and Hour Investigations Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!

This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave

Download Now!