|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Louisiana Wage and Hour Investigations: What you need to know

All employers must admit the executive director of the Workforce Commission (or his or her authorized representative) to their places of employment at any reasonable time for the purpose of making inspections and collecting facts and statistics relating to the employment of workers (LA Rev. Stat. Sec. 23:5). In addition, all employers must make their wage-related records available upon request and provide true and specific answers to the department's questions (LA Rev. Stat. Sec. 23:14). The executive director has the right to copy any book, account, record, payroll, paper, or document relating to the employment of workers (LA Rev. Stat. Sec. 23:7).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
The executive director may administer oaths, issue subpoenas, and compel the attendance of witnesses and the production of relevant documents. If an employer fails to comply with an order or refuses to testify on any relevant matter, a court might find the employer in contempt (LA Rev. Stat. Sec. 23:11).
Records. Every employer is required to keep a true and accurate record of the name, address, and occupation of each employee, as well as the employee's daily and weekly hours worked and wages paid each pay period. These records must be kept for at least 1 year (LA Rev. Stat. Sec. 23:14).
The labor department may use an imaging, electronic digitizing, or similar process to record, file, process, and preserve any records, forms, information, statements, transcriptions, and other documents. However, the department will also keep the original source document until electronic digitizing is recognized as an acceptable means of preserving records (LA Rev. Stat. Sec. 23:12).
Employers that violate Louisiana's wage laws must pay a fine of up to $500 for each ...

>> Read more about Wage and Hour Investigations

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Louisiana Wage and Hour Investigations Resources

Wage and Hour Investigations Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!