|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Maine Wage and Hour Investigations: What you need to know

Employers covered by Maine's minimum wage laws must keep employment records, including the hours worked and wages paid to each employee, for at least 3 years. The employer is obligated to admit the director of the Bureau of Labor Standards (or his or her authorized representative) to the place of employment and to allow the director to inspect and copy those employment records. Employers must give each employee a statement with his or her paycheck that shows the date of the pay period, the hours, total earnings, and itemized deductions (ME Rev. Stat. Tit. 26 Sec. 665).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Penalties for minimum wage violations. An employer that violates the state's minimum wage laws, or discharges or discriminates against any employee because the employee filed a minimum wage complaint, must be fined from $50 to $200 (ME Rev. Stat. Tit. 26 Sec. 671). In addition, a court may order the employer to pay double the amount of wages due and costs, including reasonable attorney's fees (ME Rev. Stat. Tit. 26 Sec. 670).
Exception. In the case of an overtime wage violation involving a state employee, a court may only award the amount of unpaid overtime pay--not additional damages or attorney's fees (ME Rev. Stat. Tit. 26 Sec. 670-A).
Other penalties. A fine of $100 to $500 applies for violation of the following provisions (ME Rev. Stat. Tit. 26 Sec. 602 and ME Rev. Stat. Tit. 26 Sec. 626-A):
• Hours of employment
• Timely payment of wages
• Recordkeeping requirements
• Payment of wages upon termination or resignation
• Equal pay
• Employee health benefits
For all of those violations, except hours of employment, a court may order an employer to pay health benefits; a reasonable rate of interest; costs, including a reasonable ...

>> Read more about Wage and Hour Investigations

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Maine Wage and Hour Investigations Resources

Wage and Hour Investigations Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!