Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Maryland Wage and Hour Investigations: What you need to know

The Maryland Wage and Hour Law requires employers to keep employment records, including the name, address, occupation, and rate of pay of each employee, the amount paid each pay period, and the hours worked each day and workweek, for at least 3 years (MD Code Sec. 3-424). Employers covered by the law must allow the Division of Labor and Industry commissioner (or his or her authorized representative) to enter the place of employment to inspect and copy wage and hour records and to question employees. In addition, the commissioner may require employers to attest to the truthfulness of each record (MD Code Sec. 3-425).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
A person is guilty of a misdemeanor and may be subject to a fine of up to $1,000 for:
• Paying or agreeing to pay less than the applicable wage;
• Hindering or delaying the commissioner's investigation; or
• Discharging an employee for filing a wage and hour complaint, bringing a related action, or testifying in a related action (MD Code Sec. 3-428).
Whenever the Commissioner determines that there is a violation of the wage and hour laws, the Commissioner may try to resolve the issue by mediation; with the written consent of the employee, may ask the Attorney General to sue; and may sue on behalf of an employee. The court may award the employee up to three times the wages owed and reasonable attorney's fees (MD Code Sec. 3-507).
There is more information.
Equal pay. The Commissioner also has the authority to enter a place of employment to inspect records related to a complaint regarding equal pay. Violating Maryland's equal pay law is considered a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $300. Violations include:
• Paying different salaries to employees based solely on gender;
• Refusing ...

>> Read more about Wage and Hour Investigations

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Maryland Wage and Hour Investigations Resources

Wage and Hour Investigations Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!

This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave

Download Now!