|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Michigan Wage and Hour Investigations: What you need to know

Michigan's Labor Department has the authority to inspect at any reasonable time employment records of every employer covered by the stateMinimum Wage Law (MI Comp. Laws Sec. 408.381). Labor officials may administer oaths, subpoena witnesses, and require employers to produce relevant records regarding the payment of wages (MI Comp. Laws. Sec. 408.481).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Minimum wage. An employer found in violation of minimum wage provisions may file a claim with the department and file a suit to recover double the amount of unpaid wages, costs, and reasonable attorney's fees. In addition, the employer must pay a fine of up to $1,000 (MI Comp. Laws. Sec. 408.393).
Payment of wages. Failure to pay the wages and fringe benefits due to employees is a misdemeanor, which is punishable by a fine of up to $1,000, imprisonment for up to 1 year, or both (MI Comp. Laws Sec. 408.485). In addition, employers must pay unpaid wages and fringe benefits, a 10 percent penalty, costs, and reasonable attorney's fees, hearing costs, and transcript costs. For repeat violations, employers must pay up to twice the amount of wages and fringe benefits due (MI Comp. Laws Sec. 408.488).
Reinstatements. If, after investigating a complaint from an employee or former employee, the labor department determines that the employee was discharged or discriminated against because he or she filed a wage complaint, caused such proceeding, or testified or planned to testify in a wage proceeding, the department will order the employer to rehire or reinstate the employer with back pay (MI Comp. Laws Sec. 408.483).
Youth employment. Employers that employ minors must make work permits, age certificates, or other proof of age, time records, and other relevant ...

>> Read more about Wage and Hour Investigations

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Michigan Wage and Hour Investigations Resources

Wage and Hour Investigations Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!