|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Missouri Wage and Hour Investigations: What you need to know

The director of the Department of Labor and Industrial Relations (or his or her authorized representative) may investigate the wages of employees in any occupation (MO Rev. Stat. Sec. 290.510). Employers must:
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
• Keep for at least 3 years a record of the name, address and occupation of each employee, the rate of pay, the amount paid each pay period to each employee, the hours worked each day and each workweek by the employee;
• Make those records available to the director by appointment; and
• Provide a sworn statement of those records at the director's request (MO Rev. Stat. Sec. 290.520).
An employer that does not comply with those requirements, refuses to admit the director to the business, hinders the director's investigation, fails to keep the proper records, or pays employees less than the applicable rate, is guilty of a Class C misdemeanor. Additional violations include failing to meet posting requirements and discharging or discriminating against an employee who has lodged a wage complaint, has caused such a proceeding, or has testified or plans to testify at a wage proceeding (MO Rev. Stat. Sec. 290.525).
Minimum wage. Employees who have been paid less than the applicable wage may recover double the full amount of the applicable rate, costs, and reasonable attorneys’ fees. Any agreement between the employee and the employer to work for less than the wage rate is no defense to the action. All actions for the collection of any deficiency in wages must begin within 2 years of the accrual of the cause of action (MO Rev. Stat. Sec. 290.527).
Child labor. Employers that employ children must keep certain employment records on the workplace premises for 2 years, including the times and hours the ...

>> Read more about Wage and Hour Investigations

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Missouri Wage and Hour Investigations Resources

Wage and Hour Investigations Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!