|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Nevada Wage and Hour Investigations: What you need to know

Employers must admit the labor commissioner (or his or her authorized representative) to his or her place of employment at any reasonable time to gather facts and to enforce wage and hour laws. A person refusing entry may be charged with a misdemeanor and face a fine of up to $500 (NV Rev. Stat. Sec. 607.150). The commissioner may conduct hearings and issue wage-related decisions. In addition, the commissioner may take testimony, compel the attendance of witnesses, and issue subpoenas (NV Rev. Stat. Sec. 607.210).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Under Nevada law, an employer is guilty of a misdemeanor for:
• Willfully refusing to testify before the labor commissioner (NV Rev. Stat. Sec. 607.210);
• Violating the state's minimum wage requirements (NV Rev. Stat. Sec. 608.290);
• Paying employees less than what they are entitled to through an agreed-upon collective bargaining agreement (NV Rev. Stat. Sec. 608.100);
• Willfully refusing to pay wages due upon demand, in most cases (NV Rev. Stat. Sec. 608.190 and Sec. 608.195);
• Violating provisions regarding the hours of work for minors (NV Rev. Stat. Sec. 609.270); and
• Failing to comply with prevailing wage requirements (NV Rev. Stat. Sec. 338.070).
Discharged employees. If a discharged employee, or an employee who quits his or her job, is not paid according to wage payment provisions, the employee's wages will continue at the same rate for up to 30 days (NV Rev. Stat. Sec. 608.040 and Sec. 608.050).
Payment of wages. Under certain circumstances, an employer who violates wage payment provisions must, in addition to unpaid wages and penalties, pay a reasonable attorney's fee “to be taxes as costs of suit” (NV Rev. Stat. Sec. 608.140). There is additional information on wage payment ...

>> Read more about Wage and Hour Investigations

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Nevada Wage and Hour Investigations Resources

Wage and Hour Investigations Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!