Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

New Hampshire Wage and Hour Investigations: What you need to know

New Hampshire's labor commissioner (or his or her authorized representative) has the authority to enter any place of business to inspect the employer's books, registers, payrolls, and other wage-related records. The commissioner also may require the employer to provide a sworn statement of each employee's hours worked, wages paid, and classification of employment. These records may be inspected by the commissioner at any reasonable time (NH Rev. Stat. Sec. 279:3 and Sec. 279:27).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
The commissioner may hold hearings, question employees, investigate facts related to the payment of wages, administer oaths, issue subpoenas, and compel witnesses to attend proceedings and employers to produce relevant records (NH Rev. Stat. Sec. 275:51).
In addition to criminal penalties, the labor commissioner may impose a civil penalty of up to $2,500 for violations of the state's labor laws. The commissioner will issue one written warning to an employer before imposing a penalty. The employer will have 30 days from receipt of the warning to fix the violation. No warning will be issued if, in the opinion of the commissioner, the employer intends to cause harm, the violation poses a threat to public safety, or the violation involves the following:
• Failure to pay an employee in full and on time;
• Payment of wages by checks through a financial institution that is not convenient to the place of employment;
• Failure to pay final wages in full;
• Failure to pay amounts withheld for court-ordered child support to the custodial parent;
• Continuation of wage withholding for insurance benefits that have been canceled;
• Illegal withholding of wages to compensate the employer for the employee actions, which have resulted in loss ...

>> Read more about Wage and Hour Investigations

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

New Hampshire Wage and Hour Investigations Resources

Wage and Hour Investigations Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!

This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave

Download Now!