Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

New Mexico Wage and Hour Investigations: What you need to know

The labor commissioner (or his or her agent) has the authority to enter a place of employment during working hours and stay as long as necessary to gather information regarding wage and hour issues. When entering a place of employment for an inspection, however, the commissioner must notify a person in charge and allow that person (or other representative) to accompany the commissioner during the entire investigation on the premises. An employer that refuses entry to the commissioner is guilty of a misdemeanor, which is punishable by a fine, imprisonment, or both (NM Stat. Sec. 50-1-5).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Employers in violation of New Mexico's wage payment and recordkeeping provisions are guilty of a misdemeanor. An employer may be imprisoned, fined, or both. An employer convicted of a second or subsequent offense may be imprisoned, fined, or both to a greater degree(NM Stat. Sec. 50-4-10).
Paying wages due to a discharged employee. When an employer discharges an employee, the unpaid wages are due immediately and the employer must pay the wages to the employee within 5 days of termination. The employee's wages will continue to accrue until paid, and the employee may recover the wages in a civil suit (NM Stat. Sec. 50-4-4).
Keeping records. Employers are required to keep an accurate record of each employee's hours worked and wages paid for at least 1 year and to make those records available to the commissioner at reasonable times. The commissioner may administer oaths, issue subpoenas, and compel the attendance of witnesses and the production of payroll records (NM Stat. Sec. 50-4-9). Violation of time record requirements can result in a fine (NM Stat. Sec. 50-4-17 ).
Minimum wage. A violation of New Mexico's ...

>> Read more about Wage and Hour Investigations

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

New Mexico Wage and Hour Investigations Resources

Wage and Hour Investigations Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!

This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave

Download Now!