|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Oklahoma Wage and Hour Investigations: What you need to know

Oklahoma's commissioner of labor (or his or her authorized representative) has the authority to investigate a verified complaint from an employee (or a former employee) that an employer (or a former employer) did not pay the required minimum wage. The commissioner may administer oaths, require sworn statements, and issue subpoenas to compel the attendance of witnesses and wage-related records (OK Stat. Tit. 40 Sec. 197.7).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
An employer is guilty of a misdemeanor for:
• Failing to pay the appropriate minimum wage (OK Stat. Tit. 40 Sec. 197.13);
• Violating wage payment provisions (OK Stat. Tit. 40 Sec. 165.8); or
• Willfully paying lower wages to female employees than to male employees solely on the basis of gender (OK Stat. Tit. 40 Sec. 198.2).
The following penalties apply.
Minimum wage. Violation of minimum wage provisions is punishable by a fine of up to $500, imprisonment, or both (OK Stat. Tit. 40 Sec. 197.13). A court may order the employer to pay double the amount of unpaid wages, costs, and reasonable attorney's fees (OK Stat. Tit. 40 Sec. 197.9).
Wage payments. The commissioner may assess a $500 fine when an employer violates wage payment provisions two or more times within 6 months (OK Stat. Tit. 40 Sec. 165.2a). A court may order an employer to pay unpaid wages, damages, costs, and reasonable attorney's fees (OK Stat. Tit. 40 Sec. 165.9).
Discriminatory wages. An employer that willfully pays lower wages to female employees solely on the basis of gender may be fined between $25 and $100 (OK Stat. Tit. 40 Sec. 198.2).

>> Read more about Wage and Hour Investigations

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Oklahoma Wage and Hour Investigations Resources

Wage and Hour Investigations Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!