Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Oregon Wage and Hour Investigations: What you need to know

Oregon's commissioner of the Bureau of Labor and Industries (or his or her authorized representative) is allowed to enter any place of employment and investigate employees' wages (OR Rev. Stat. Sec. 651.120). The commissioner may also require an employer to provide sworn statements of the names, addresses, hours worked, and wages paid to each employee (OR Rev. Stat. Sec. 653.040).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Minimum wage. Employers required to pay a minimum wage must keep employment records for each of their employees for at least 2 years. Those records must include the name, address, and occupation of each employee and the actual hours worked each week and each pay period for every employee. The commissioner is allowed to inspect and transcribe those records at any reasonable time (OR Rev. Stat. Sec. 653.045). If an employer pays an employee less than the amount that he or she is entitled to, the employer may have to pay the full amount of wages still due and civil penalties. The bureau may file a suit to stop the employer from violating minimum wage and overtime provisions again (OR Rev. Stat. Sec. 653.055).
Failure to allow an authorized inspector to enter a place of employment is punishable by a fine or imprisonment (OR Rev. Stat. Sec. 651.990).
Retaliation. An employer that willfully discharges or discriminates against an employee for making a wage-related complaint, causing such a proceeding, or testifying or planning to testify in such a proceeding faces a civil penalty.
Termination of employment. If an employer willfully fails to pay wages due to a terminated employee, the employee must continue to be paid--up to 30 days--at the same hourly rate until the wages due are paid (OR Rev. Stat. Sec. 652.150).
Wage ...

>> Read more about Wage and Hour Investigations

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Oregon Wage and Hour Investigations Resources

Wage and Hour Investigations Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!

This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave

Download Now!