Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pennsylvania Wage and Hour Investigations: What you need to know

The state Minimum Wage Act requires employers to keep, for 3 years, an accurate record of the hours worked and wages paid to each employee and, on demand, to make those records open to inspection at any reasonable time by the Department of Labor and Industry's secretary or authorized representative. Every employer must post a summary of the Act in a conspicuous place where employes normally pass and can read it (PA Stat. Tit. 43 Sec. 33.108).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
The state Department of Labor has the authority to investigate and ascertain employee wages; enter and inspect a place of business or employment; and examine any records that in any way relate to wages, hours, or other conditions of employment. The state inspector may copy the records as he or she deems necessary and may require an employer to provide “full and accurate” statements in writing of the wages paid to all employees. The investigator may interview employees in order to ascertain whether the law is being complied with (PA Stat. Tit. 43 Sec. 33.107).
Records kept out of state. If an employer's records are stored in a central recordkeeping office out of state, the employer has 7 calendar days following a verbal or written notice to make those records available at its place of employment.
Any employer that pays or agrees to pay an employee less than the applicable rate faces a fine of $75 to $300, imprisonment of between 10 days and 60 days, or both. Each week in which an employee is paid less than the applicable rate is considered a separate offense. Other violations of the state Minimum Wage Act are punishable by a fine of up to $500 for each day an employer is in violation (PA Stat. Tit. 43 Sec. 33.112).
Retaliation. ...

>> Read more about Wage and Hour Investigations

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Pennsylvania Wage and Hour Investigations Resources

Wage and Hour Investigations Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!

This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave

Download Now!