|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rhode Island Wage and Hour Investigations: What you need to know

The Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training may enter a place of business and inspect an employer's books, registers, payrolls, and other records related to wages, hours, and other conditions of employment. In addition, the Department may question employees in order to help determine whether the employer is in compliance with wage and hour laws. The employer must provide full and correct written statements, including sworn statements with respect to wages, hours, names, addresses, and other pertinent employee information. If necessary, the Department may require, by subpoena, the production of all books, records, and other evidence relevant to its investigation (RI Gen. Laws Sec. 28-12-14).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
An employer is in violation of the state's minimum wage law if the employer:
• Hinders or delays the department's investigation;
• Refuses to admit department personnel or its authorized representative;
• Fails to make, keep, and preserve records as required;
• Falsifies any record;
• Refuses to make any record accessible to the Department or its authorized representative on demand;
• Refuses to provide a sworn statement of the record or any other required information on demand; or
• Fails to post a summary of minimum wage requirements or a copy of any applicable regulation or order.
Violations are punishable by a fine of between $100 and $500. Each day of violation is considered a separate offense (RI Gen. Laws Sec. 28-12-15). If an employer discharges or discriminates against an employee because he or she has not been paid wages in accordance with the state's minimum wage law, has caused or is about to cause such a proceeding, has testified or is about to testify in such a proceeding, or has served or is ...

>> Read more about Wage and Hour Investigations

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Rhode Island Wage and Hour Investigations Resources

Wage and Hour Investigations Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!