|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

South Carolina Wage and Hour Investigations: What you need to know

South Carolina's Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation has the authority to enter a place of employment at reasonable times; question personnel either publicly or privately; and inspect, investigate, reproduce, or photograph time records or payroll records in order to determine whether the employer is complying with wage payment provisions (SC Code Sec. 41-10-110).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Notification and recordkeeping. Most employers in South Carolina must:
• Notify new employees in writing of their normal hours and wages, the time and place of payment, and deductions that will be made, including payments to insurance programs;
• Keep records of names and addresses of all employees and of wages paid each payday and deductions made for 3 years; and
• Provide each employee with an itemized statement showing his or her gross pay and the deductions made for each pay period (SC Code Sec. 41-10-30).
Employers who violate these provisions will receive a written warning for the first offense and must pay up to $100 for each subsequent offense (SC Code Sec. 41-10-80).
Payments. All employers must comply with certain state provisions regarding the medium of payment, the deposit of wages, the prohibition against deductions in the absence of written notice, and the time and place of payment. Violations of these provisions are punishable by up to $100 for each violation (SC Code Sec. 41-10-80).
Failure to pay wages. If an employer fails to pay current or discharged employees, the employee may recover in a civil action triple the amount of the unpaid wages, plus costs and reasonable attorney's fees (SC Code Sec. 41-10-80).

>> Read more about Wage and Hour Investigations

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

South Carolina Wage and Hour Investigations Resources

Wage and Hour Investigations Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!