Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Tennessee Wage and Hour Investigations: What you need to know

During normal business hours, private employers must make available to Department of Labor and Workforce Development inspectors specific wage and payroll records that are pertinent to a written complaint. Records that are stored in another location must be supplied to the inspectors on a timely basis (TN Code Sec. 50-2-103).
Tennessee’s Wage Regulations Act now requires that employees bring their complaints to the state Department of Labor, rather than initiating a civil court proceeding. Initiating a complaint in a civil court proceeding was previously allowed.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Payment of wages. Private employers must follow certain wage payment provisions. Violations result in a fine of up to $500 per offense. Willful violations are punishable by a fine of up to $1,000 (TN Code Sec. 50-2-103).
Child labor. The Department has the authority to inspect all employment records for minors at any reasonable time and as often as necessary to make sure the laws are enforced (TN Code Sec. 50-5-110 and Sec. 50-5-111). Employers who violate Tennessee's child labor laws may be charged with a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $1,000 per offense. The amount of the penalty is based on the size of the business and the gravity of the violation. Each day a violation continues after the employer has been notified by the Department of the violation is a separate offense (TN Code Sec. 50-5-112).
Misrepresenting wages. It is a Class C misdemeanor for an employer to misrepresent to a new employee the amount of wages the employee will earn, and the employer must pay a civil penalty of up to $1,000 (TN Code Sec. 50-2-104).
Discrimination. Tennessee law prohibits employers from discriminating against employees on ...

>> Read more about Wage and Hour Investigations

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Tennessee Wage and Hour Investigations Resources

Wage and Hour Investigations Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!

This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave

Download Now!