Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Texas Wage and Hour Investigations: What you need to know

The Texas Employment Commission may conduct investigations and issue subpoenas to compel employers to produce wage and hour records (TX Labor Code Sec. 61.002). If an employer fails or refuses to obey a commission subpoena, the employer faces a fine of up to $200, confinement for up to 60 days, or both, and a county or district court may issue an order requiring the employer to cooperate (TX Labor Code Sec. 61.005).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Employment of children. During working hours, the commission or its designee may inspect a place of employment where there is good reason to believe that a child is employed or has been employed within the last 2 years, and collect information concerning a child's current or previous employment. An employer is in violation of state law if it knowingly or intentionally hinders an inspection or the collection of such information (TX Labor Code Sec. 51.021).
Failure to pay wages. An employer can be charged with a third-degree felony for intending to avoid payment of wages owed to an employee, intending to continue employing the employee, and failing to pay those wages on demand. In addition, an employer violates wage payment provisions if, at the time of hiring an employee, the employer intends to avoid paying wages due and fails to pay those wages. The attorney general may seek injunctive relief against an employer who repeatedly violates wage payment provisions (TX Labor Code Sec. 61.019). The commission may require an employer to deposit a bond if the employer is convicted of two violations, or if a final order against an employer for nonpayment of wages is still unsatisfied after the 10th day from the date on which the time to appeal from that final order has expired and an appeal ...

>> Read more about Wage and Hour Investigations

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Texas Wage and Hour Investigations Resources

Wage and Hour Investigations Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!

This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave

Download Now!