Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Washington Wage and Hour Investigations: What you need to know

Washington's Department of Labor and Industries may investigate and gather wage and hour data, enter and inspect businesses and their records, make transcriptions of those records, and question employees (WA Rev. Code Sec. 49.46.040). Any employer that refuses to admit Department personnel, or that willfully neglects or refuses to provide requested information relevant to the investigation, will be guilty of a misdemeanor (WA Rev. Code Sec. 49.48.040). Employers that are found in violation of wage and hour provisions are guilty of a misdemeanor (WA Rev. Code Sec. 49.48.020) and must pay the affected employee the wages due, as well as costs and reasonable attorney's fees (WA Rev. Code Sec. 49.46.090).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Bonds. Under certain circumstances, the Department may require the employer to give a bond to ensure that future wages will be paid. If the employer fails to provide the bond, the Department may start a suit against the employer in superior court. The court may enjoin the employer from doing business in the state until the requirement is met or may make additional orders to compel compliance (WA Rev. Code Sec. 49.48.060).
Notification by mail. After being informed of a wage claim against an employer or former employer, the Department will notify that employer or former employer by mail. Failing to pay the claim or make a satisfactory explanation to the Department within 30 days will result in a penalty of 10 percent of the amount found to be due (WA Rev. Code Sec. 49.48.060).
Prevailing wages. A complaint regarding the payment of prevailing wages prompts an investigation by the Department. A contractor or subcontractor in violation of prevailing wage payment provisions may be fined up to $1,000 or 25 ...

>> Read more about Wage and Hour Investigations

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Washington Wage and Hour Investigations Resources

Wage and Hour Investigations Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!

This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave

Download Now!