|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Maine Maternity and Pregnancy: What you need to know

The Maine Human Rights Act prohibits discrimination on the basis of sex, including pregnancy and related medical conditions (ME Rev. Stat. Tit. 5 Sec. 4572-A). The Act applies to all employers.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Employers are not required to provide pregnancy leave, but must treat employees who are affected by pregnancy the same for all employment-related purposes as other employees are treated who require temporary leave (ME Rev. Stat. Tit. 5 Sec. 4572-A).
The Maine Family Medical Leave Act requires employers to provide up to 10 weeks of paid or unpaid leave in any 2 years for family medical leave. Qualifying reasons for family medical leave include the serious health condition of the employee, employee's child, domestic partner's child, spouse, or domestic partner, as well as the placement of a child 16 years of age or younger with the employee or the employee's domestic partner in connection with the adoption of a child. An employee returning from leave must be restored to the position previously held or to a similar position. Employees who have been employed by the same employer for 12 consecutive months are eligible for this leave. The Act applies to private employers with 25 or more employees, and to all state employers (ME Rev. Stat. Tit. 26 Sec. 843et seq.). For more information For employers with 50 or more employees, this leave runs concurrently with leave taken under the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA).
Notice requirements. The employer is entitled to 30 days' notice of the intended date upon which the family medical leave will commence and terminate, unless a medical emergency prevents the giving of such notice.
Certification. The employer may require ...

>> Read more about Maternity and Pregnancy

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Maine Maternity and Pregnancy Resources

Maternity and Pregnancy Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!