|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Massachusetts Maternity and Pregnancy: What you need to know

The Massachusetts Fair Employment Practices Law makes it unlawful to discriminate against an employee based on sex, which includes pregnancy, childbirth, and related medical conditions (MA Gen. Laws Ch. 151B Sec. 1et seq.). It is also unlawful for an employer to refuse to restore a female employee to her employment or to impose any other penalty following her absence for maternity leave (MA Gen. Laws Ch. 151B Sec. (4)11). The Act covers private employers with six or more employees, all public employers, employment agencies, and labor organizations.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Under the state Parental Leave Act (PLA), formerly known as the Massachusetts Maternity Leave Act (MMLA), employers with six or more employees must provide qualified employees with a maximum of 8 weeks of unpaid leave for specified purposes. An employee is eligible for leave under the PLA if he or she has completed the initial probationary period of employment, not to exceed 3 months or, if no such period exists, has been employed for at least 3 consecutive months by the same employer as a full-time employee. Amendments to the former MMLA expanded the law to cover male employees, as well as female employees.
An employee may use PLA leave for the purposes of caring for a child after:
• The child’s birth;
• Adopt a child who is under the age of 18;
• The child’s adoption if the child is under the age of 18 (or under the age of 23 if the child is mentally or physically disabled); or
• The child’s placement with the employee pursuant to a court order.
Under amendments to the maternity leave law effective in April 2015, male employees are also eligible for up to 8 weeks of leave under the law.
Leave may be granted with or ...

>> Read more about Maternity and Pregnancy

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Massachusetts Maternity and Pregnancy Resources

Maternity and Pregnancy Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!