|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Mississippi Maternity and Pregnancy: What you need to know

Mississippi has no state law that prohibits private employers from discriminating in their employment practices on the basis of pregnancy, childbirth, or related medical conditions, but employers may be subject to federal law in this area.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Under the federal Pregnancy Discrimination Act, employers are required to treat women affected by pregnancy and its related conditions (i.e., deliveries, miscarriages, abortions) in the same manner as they would any other employee with a temporary disability for insurance and other employee benefit purposes. The Act applies to employers with 15 or more employees.
The Pregnancy Rules for State Employees require that pregnant women disabled by pregnancy be granted leave on the same terms as other disabled employees (MS State Policy and Procedure Manual Sec. 7.22.6).
Major medical leave may be used only after the employee has used 1 day of accrued personal or compensatory leave for each absence due to illness, or leave without pay if the employee has no accrued personal or compensatory leave.
Private employers. Some states have laws that require employers to grant male and female employees time off for the birth or adoption of a child, but Mississippi does not have such a law for private employers.
Public employers. The Mississippi employer requirements under the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) policy provide that state employees are entitled to up to 12 weeks of unpaid family leave in a 12-month period for the birth of a child, for placement of a child for adoption or foster care, to care for an immediate family member with a serious health condition, or to take medical leave for their ...

>> Read more about Maternity and Pregnancy

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Mississippi Maternity and Pregnancy Resources

Maternity and Pregnancy Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!