Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Oregon Maternity and Pregnancy: What you need to know

The Oregon Fair Employment Practice Act prohibits employment practices that discriminate on the basis of sex (OR Rev. Stat. Sec. 659A.001et seq.). Generally, discriminating because of sex includes discriminating because of pregnancy, childbirth, and related medical conditions. The Act covers all employers, regardless of size.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Leave for birth or adoption of a child. Employers with 25 or more employees must offer 12 weeks of leave to care for a newly adopted child under the age of 18 years, or infant, or newly placed foster child or to recover from or seek treatment for serious health condition of the employee that makes it impossible for the employee to perform at least one of the essential functions of his or her job. The leave taken under the state Family Medical Leave Act must be taken within 12 months of the birth or adoption of the child.
Employee benefits. Policies on seniority, payments under any health or disability insurance or sick leave plan, and other benefits, both written and unwritten, must treat pregnancy-related conditions the same as other temporary disabilities. State law prohibits discrimination in the provision of benefits to employees and dependent spouses or domestic partners for pregnancy when employees and dependent spouses or domestic partners are covered for other medical conditions. A "domestic partnership" means two individuals who have received a certificate of registered domestic partnership from the state (BOLI Admin. Rule 839-005-0026).
An employee must give 30 days written notice to an employer in order to commence his or her family leave, unless an unexpected serious health condition, illness, injury, or birth occurs. In this instance, the employee ...

>> Read more about Maternity and Pregnancy

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Oregon Maternity and Pregnancy Resources

Maternity and Pregnancy Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!

This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave

Download Now!