|
|
Claim your Copy of
Top 100 FLSA
Overtime Q&As
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Texas Maternity and Pregnancy: What you need to know

The Texas Employment Discrimination Act prohibits employment practices that discriminate on the basis of sex, including discrimination based on pregnancy, childbirth, or related medical conditions.
The Act requires that women affected by one of these conditions be treated the same for all employment-related purposes as employees with other types of temporary disabilities are treated, including receipt of benefits under fringe benefit programs.
The Act covers employers with 15 or more employees (TX Labor Code Tit. 2 Ch. 21 Sec. 21.001 et seq.).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Texas does not have a state law that specifically requires employers to offer pregnancy leave. However, employers covered by the Texas Employment Discrimination Act must provide the same leave benefits to women affected by pregnancy or childbirth or related conditions that are provided to other employees with temporary disabilities.
This means that employers can provide leave for employees with temporary disabilities, including pregnancy disability, with or without pay, or not provide it at all, as long as all employees are treated the same in their requests for temporary disability leave.
A state employee who has been employed for fewer than 12 months by the state, or who worked fewer than 1,250 hours during the 12-month period preceding the beginning of leave, is eligible to take a parental leave of absence not to exceed 12 weeks.
The leave is limited to, and begins on the date of, the birth of a natural child of the employee or the adoption by or foster care placement with the employee of a child younger than 3 years of age.
The employee must first use all available and applicable paid vacation and ...

>> Read more about Maternity and Pregnancy

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Texas Maternity and Pregnancy Resources

Maternity and Pregnancy Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!