|
Close





Utah Maternity and Pregnancy: What you need to know

The Utah Anti-Discrimination Act prohibits employment practices that discriminate on the basis of sex, pregnancy, childbirth, or related medical conditions (UT Code Sec. 34A-5-106). As a general rule, this means that for all employment-related purposes, employers must treat pregnancy and related medical conditions the same as employees with temporary disabilities are treated. The law covers employers with 15 or more employees.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Under the federal Pregnancy Discrimination Act (PDA), which covers employers with 15 or more employees, employers must offer the same time off to female employees affected by pregnancy and related medical conditions as is offered employees with temporary disabilities.
Private employers. There is no Utah law requiring private employers to provide family leave for their employees. If it is promised, however, employers may have a legal obligation to grant it.
Public employers. In compliance with the FMLA, the Utah State Employees Family and Medical Leave Rules provide up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave each year for the birth, adoption, or foster placement of a child, for a serious health condition of the employee, or to care for a spouse, dependent child, or parent with a serious medical condition. Employees may use paid sick leave for maternity or paternity and adoption care for absences caused by injury or temporary disability of a spouse or dependents living in the employee's home. To be eligible for this leave, an employee must be employed by the state for at least 12 months (UT Admin. Code Sec. 477-8-7(4), Sec. 477-8-7(10), and Sec. 477-8-9et seq.).
An employee of the state who is ineligible for FMLA, workers' ...

>> Read more about Maternity and Pregnancy

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Utah Maternity and Pregnancy Resources

Maternity and Pregnancy Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Top 100 FLSA Overtime Q&As

We’ve compiled a list of the 100 most commonly asked questions we have received on the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) overtime regulations.
Download Now!


This report, "Top 100 FLSA Q&As", is designed to provide you with an examination of the federal FLSA overtime regulations in Q&A format, including valuable tips for bringing your workplace into compliance in an affordable manner.

At the end of the report, you will find a list of state resources on wage and hour issues. This report includes practical advice on topics such as:
  • FLSA Coverage: How FLSA regulations apply to all employers and any specific exemptions from the overtime requirements
  • Salary Level: Qualifying for exemptions and nonexempt employees
  • Deductions from Pay: Deducting for violations, disciplinary reasons, sick leave, or personal leave


Download Now!