Minnesota provides family and medical leave protections to both public and private employees through its Parental Leave Act (MN Stat. Sec. 181.940et seq.).
All employers of 21 or more employees at one site are covered by Minnesota's Parental Leave Act. However, for purposes of the school leave allowed under the Act, an employer means a person or entity that employs one or more employees in Minnesota.
To be eligible for the leave, an employee must be employed for at least 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the request for leave and work at least half the full-time equivalent position in the employee's job classification, as defined by the employer's personnel policies or practices.
A parental leave may be taken for the birth or adoption of a child. The Minnesota law also provides leave for working parents to visit school and early childhood programs. In addition, an employee may use personal sick leave benefits for absences due to the employee's child's illness or injury for such reasonable periods as the employee's attendance with the child may be necessary.
A child means an individual under 18 years of age or under the age of 20 who is still attending secondary school.
Birth or adoption leave. An employee may take an unpaid parental leave for the birth or adoption of a child. The employee determines the length of the leave, but it cannot exceed 6 weeks unless agreed to by the employer. The leave begins at a time requested by the employee. The leave may not begin more than 6 weeks after the birth or adoption. However, if the child stays in the hospital longer than the mother does, the ...