Employers have no obligation under Connecticut law to offer life insurance to their employees. However, if group life insurance is among the benefits offered to workers, certain minimum requirements must be satisfied (CT Gen. Stat. Sec. 38a-431).
Employer contributions. Employers are not required to make any contribution toward the cost of group insurance.
Premium payment. A 30-day or 1 month grace period within which to make a premium payment must be provided before coverage can be terminated.
Cancellation or substitution of insurance. Employers are required to mail or deliver notice of the cancellation of a group insurance policy to each insured employee 15 days prior thereto. This also applies where one policy is substituted for another, even if there is no interruption of coverage (CT Gen. Stat. Sec. 38a-456).
Conversion and termination. The Connecticut Insurance Department requires that group life policies must include the right to convert to an individual life insurance policy without physical examination within 31 days of termination. Although individual life insurance policy premiums are much more expensive than group rates, the right to convert is a valuable privilege to employees who might not be able to obtain other insurance because of age or health. Employers should be sure to notify employees of this in writing at time of termination. The Insurance Department also requires that if an insured employee terminates and then dies within 31 days of termination, the insurance is still in effect and the beneficiary receives payment (Insurance Department Bulletin S-4).