There is no Nevada law that requires private sector employers to provide employees paid or unpaid sick leave, although many employers do grant it as an important benefit. It is important to remember, however, that if sick leave is promised, an employer may have a legal obligation to grant it. Some courts have ruled, for example, that policies published in employee handbooks may constitute implied contracts, which are binding and enforceable. Thus, employers should regularly review policy statements made in handbooks or elsewhere to ensure that they accurately reflect current policies. If not, they should be changed, and employees notified of the changes.
Under Nevada law, state employees receive 1 1 / 4 days of paid sick leave for each month worked per year, which may accumulate from year to year. After accumulating 90 days, an employee may carry forward only one-half of the accrued days for that year. If an employee has a long-term or chronic illness and has no more sick leave available, the Department of Personnel may authorize use of leave that has accrued but that has not been carried forward (NV Rev. Stat. Sec. 284.355).