|
|

Nevada Rest Periods: What you need to know

Federal wage and hour law does not mandate that employees be given either paid or unpaid rest or meal periods. Whether breaks are required is left up to the states. Nevada has laws concerning meal and rest periods.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division regulations specify that work breaks, including meal periods, rest periods, and sleeping time, when provided, must be counted as work time subject to federal minimum wage and overtime requirements (29 CFR Sec. 785.18 through 785.23).
Meal breaks. Under Nevada law, employees are entitled to an unpaid 30-minute break during a continuous work period of 8 hours (NV Rev. Stat. Sec. 608.019). Breaks of less than 30 minutes do not interrupt a continuous period of work for this purpose. Shorter breaks may not be deducted from paid work time.
Rest breaks. Employees are entitled to a 10-minute paid rest period for each work period of 4 hours or a major fraction of that time.
Exceptions. The break requirements do not apply to:
• Employees who work less than 31/2 hours a day
• Situations in which only one person is present at the workplace
• Employees who are covered by a collective bargaining agreement
• Employers exempted by the labor commissioner from providing meal or rest breaks because the employer has shown that business necessity precludes providing such rest periods
Last reviewed on March 31, 2016.

>> Read more about Rest Periods

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin |

Nevada Rest Periods Resources

There are currently no resources for this topic/state.

Rest Periods Products

Part Timers, Temps, and Interns Webinar Recording
BLR Webinar: "Part Timers, Temps, and Interns: How to Avoid the Legal Risks of Less-Than-Full-Time Employees""
Off the Clock Time Webinar Recording
BLR Webinar: "Off the Clock? How To Determine When Time Worked Is Compensable Under Federal Law""
Employing in Canada 2012 Webinar Recording
BLR Webinar: "Employing in Canada 2012: Essential HR Policies and Practices""
California Employment Law Explained Boot Camp Recording
BLR Boot Camp: "California Employment Law Explained: Policy and Practice Essentials for HR""
CA Employment Law for Multistate Employers Recording
BLR Boot Camp: "California Employment Law for Multistate Employers: Policy and Practice Essentials for HR""
Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE HR Management Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Critical HR Recordkeeping

Record retention is complex and time consuming. However, in addition to complying with various federal and state laws, keeping good, well-organized records can be very helpful in documenting and supporting an organization’s employment actions.
Download Now!


This special report will discuss how you can ensure your records are in good order, and establish a record-retention policy.

Topics covered:
1. Hiring Records
2. Employment Relationships
3. Termination Records
4. Litigation Issues
5. Electronic Information Issues
6. Tips for Better Recordkeeping
7. A List of Legal Requirements

Make sure you have the information you need to know to keep your records in order.