Delaware Wage and Hour Investigations: What you need to know

With 1 day's notice to an employer, the Delaware Department of Labor may enter and inspect a place of employment and examine and copy any or all books, registers, payrolls, and other records that relate to wages, hours, or other conditions of employment. Among other things, the department has the authority to:
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
• Question the employer, employees, or others on the premises;
• Require sworn statements from the employer regarding the payment of wages, hours, names, addresses, and other employee information; and
• Investigate facts to determine if minimum wage and wage payment provisions are being violated (DE Code Tit. 19 Sec. 903).
Employers face a civil penalty of $1,000 to $5,000 per offense for the following violations of minimum wage, payment of wages, and child labor provisions:
• Hindering or delaying the department's investigation or refusing to admit the department to the place of employment;
• Failing to make, keep, and preserve required records or falsifying records;
• Refusing to make records accessible to the department;
• Refusing to provide a sworn statement;
• Failing to post of a summary of pertinent laws;
• Paying or agreeing to pay wages at a rate less than the applicable rate; or
• Discharging or discriminating against an employee because that employee filed a wage-hour complaint, provided information to the Delaware Department of Labor, caused a wage-hour investigation, or testified or is about to testify in such an investigation. (DE Code Tit. 19 Sec. 910).
Note: If an employer “falsely makes, utters, draws or delivers” any receipt or statement that credit to an employee's bank account in payment of wages due, the employer must pay a civil penalty of $1,000 to $5,000 per violation (DE Code Tit. 19 Sec. 1112

>> Read more about Wage and Hour Investigations

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Delaware Wage and Hour Investigations Resources

There are currently no resources for this topic/state.

Wage and Hour Investigations Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE HR Management Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Critical HR Recordkeeping

Record retention is complex and time consuming. However, in addition to complying with various federal and state laws, keeping good, well-organized records can be very helpful in documenting and supporting an organization’s employment actions.
Download Now!

This special report will discuss how you can ensure your records are in good order, and establish a record-retention policy.

Topics covered:
1. Hiring Records
2. Employment Relationships
3. Termination Records
4. Litigation Issues
5. Electronic Information Issues
6. Tips for Better Recordkeeping
7. A List of Legal Requirements

Make sure you have the information you need to know to keep your records in order.