Utah Wage and Hour Investigations: What you need to know

The Labor Commission of Utah investigates wage claims of $50 to $10,000 and can assess a 5 percent penalty of the unpaid wages. The penalty is assessed daily, until paid, for up to 20 days (UT Code Sec. 34-28-9).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
Records. State law requires employers to keep an accurate record of time worked and wages paid each pay period. The Division of Antidiscrimination and Labor has the authority to enter any place of employment during business hours to inspect an employer's records and ensure compliance (UT Code Sec. 34-28-10).
Under Utah's Labor Code (UT Code Sec. 34A-1-405), employers must provide all books, records, and payrolls that show the amount of wage expenditure, for the purpose of ascertaining:
• The correctness of the wage expenditure
• The number of individuals employed
• Other information that the Commission may find useful
Failure to submit any books, records, or payrolls that the Commission requests in writing carries a $100 penalty for each offense.
Misdemeanor. An employer is guilty of a misdemeanor if the employer:
• Refuses to pay the wages due on demand;
• Falsely denies the amount due; or
• Hires additional employees without notifying them about every unpaid wage claim and related judgment against the employer (UT Code Sec. 34-28-12).
Minimum wage violations. Employers who violate Utah's minimum wage provisions must pay a $500 fine per violation (UT Code Sec. 34-40-202). State law also authorizes the Division to access all payroll records at any place of business or establishment covered by minimum wage laws. In addition, employers must provide access to other business records that may assist the Division in enforcement of minimum wage laws (UT Code Sec. 34-40-203). A repeat violation is considered a ...

>> Read more about Wage and Hour Investigations

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Utah Wage and Hour Investigations Resources

There are currently no resources for this topic/state.

Wage and Hour Investigations Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE HR Management Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Critical HR Recordkeeping

Record retention is complex and time consuming. However, in addition to complying with various federal and state laws, keeping good, well-organized records can be very helpful in documenting and supporting an organization’s employment actions.
Download Now!

This special report will discuss how you can ensure your records are in good order, and establish a record-retention policy.

Topics covered:
1. Hiring Records
2. Employment Relationships
3. Termination Records
4. Litigation Issues
5. Electronic Information Issues
6. Tips for Better Recordkeeping
7. A List of Legal Requirements

Make sure you have the information you need to know to keep your records in order.