Virginia Wage and Hour Investigations: What you need to know

State law allows the Department of Labor and Industry to inspect and investigate, during regular work hours and at other reasonable times, any business establishment or worksite and to question employees there (VA Code Sec. 40.1-8). Failure to admit the Department to the place of business or obstruction of the inspection or investigation is considered a misdemeanor and is punishable by a fine of $25 to $100, imprisonment for up to 90 days, or both (VA Code Sec. 40.1-10).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
Other penalties. Employers that knowingly and intentionally violate provisions of Virginia's labor and employment laws may be fined between $10 and $200 (VA Code Sec. 40.1-28.11). The penalty for making a false statement or providing false information in a relevant document is punishable by a fine of up to $10,000, imprisonment for up to 6 months, or both (VA Code Sec. 40.1-51.4:2). Employers that knowingly fail to make payment of wages in accordance with established provisions may be fined up to $1,000 for each violation (VA Code Sec. 40.1-29).
Handling wage claims.Employees with wage payment claims exceeding $2,500 will need to contact a private law firm appointed as special counsel by the Virginia Department of Labor and Industry (VDOLI), rather than the Department directly with their claims. In the past, employees were able to contact the VDOLI directly, and the Department would investigate the claims and enforce the laws. Employees may no longer bring their wage claims directly to the VDOLI. Employees with claims totaling less than $2,500 must resolve the disputes using their own means.

>> Read more about Wage and Hour Investigations

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

Virginia Wage and Hour Investigations Resources

There are currently no resources for this topic/state.

Wage and Hour Investigations Products

Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE HR Management Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Critical HR Recordkeeping

Record retention is complex and time consuming. However, in addition to complying with various federal and state laws, keeping good, well-organized records can be very helpful in documenting and supporting an organization’s employment actions.
Download Now!

This special report will discuss how you can ensure your records are in good order, and establish a record-retention policy.

Topics covered:
1. Hiring Records
2. Employment Relationships
3. Termination Records
4. Litigation Issues
5. Electronic Information Issues
6. Tips for Better Recordkeeping
7. A List of Legal Requirements

Make sure you have the information you need to know to keep your records in order.