Private employers. Some states have comprehensive laws that require employers to grant employees time off for the birth or adoption of a child, or to care for a family member with a serious illness. Florida does not have such a law. However, Florida employers with 50 or more employees are subject to the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA). Florida employers with fewer than 50 employees are free to provide leave time or not at their own discretion.
Public employers. TheFlorida Parental and Family Medical Leave Rule for State Employees allows public employees up to 30 days with or without pay to care for a newborn or adopted child, or for the serious illness of a child, spouse, or parent. In addition, the rule provides state employees up to 6 months' leave for a serious family illness, or for parental leave with or without pay (FL Admin. Code 60L-23.001et seq.).