The Vermont Parental and Family Leave Law provides that employers of 10 or more employees must provide unpaid parental leave and that employers of 15 or more employees must provide unpaid family leave for a period of up to 12 weeks. Parental leave must be granted for the birth or adoption of a child under the age of 16.
Employees covered. Individuals are covered by the Act if they are employed for an average of 30 hours per week during the year.
Family leave. Family leave is authorized by the Act for the serious illness of the employee or the employee's child, stepchild, or ward who lives with the employee, foster child, parent, spouse, or parent of the employee's spouse. Civil union partners are also covered under this law.
Parental leave. Parental leave is authorized by the Act for (VT Stat. Tit. 21 Ch. 5 Sec. 495et seq.):
• The birth of the employee's child;
• Adoption of a child under the age of 16; or
• Serious illness such as an accident, disease of physical or mental condition that poses imminent danger of death, requires inpatient care in a hospital, or requires continuing in-home care under the direction of a physician.
Note: The Vermont Act to Protect Religious Freedom and Promote Equality in Civil Marriage provides legal recognition of same-sex marriage in Vermont (VT Stat. Tit. 15 Sec. 8). All ...