Mississippi restricts polygraph testing by its licensing procedures for polygraph examiners. Mississippi law permits voluntary polygraph testing, provided it is conducted by a state-licensed polygraph examiner. To obtain a license, an individual must meet certain education, character, training, and examination requirements (MS Code Sec. 73-29-1 et seq.). It is a violation of state law, and grounds for the revocation of a license, for a polygraph examiner to:
• Fail to inform a subject of the nature of the examination.
• Fail to advise a subject that the participation in the test is voluntary.
• Willfully make a false report concerning an examination.
• Require the subject to waive any rights or causes of action arising out of the administration of the test.
• Fail to notify the subject of the results of the test if the results are requested.
• In the case of tests conducted in connection with employment, require the subject to acknowledge that the test is not being conducted for such a purpose.
• Reveal the test results to any unauthorized person.
The results of a lie detector test cannot be admitted as evidence in Mississippi. Anyone conducting an unlicensed lie detector test may be punished by a fine of not less than $100 and not more than $1,000 or a 6-month sentence in the county jail.