Generally, California employers are not obligated to reimburse employees for business expenses. However, employers must reimburse employees for lawful expenditures made under the direct request of the employer (CA Labor Code Sec. 2802). Therefore, employers should not assign a set stipend to cover personal cellphone use as it may be insufficient to cover the amount of employees' bills.
Under California’s Hand-Held Wireless Telephone: Prohibited Use law, using a cell phone and driving a motor vehicle without a hands-free device is illegal in California (CA Vehicle Code Sec. 23123).
Motorists using hands-free devices may not cover both ears while driving.
Drivers under 18 are prohibited from using cell phones or hands-free devices while driving (CA Vehicle Code Sec. 23124). School bus drivers and operators of transit vehicles may not use any cell phone while driving.
A California appeals court has ruled that the law applies when drivers are stopped at traffic lights or are otherwise stopped to obey traffic laws.
Exceptions. Motorists are allowed to use cell phones while driving to make emergency calls to law enforcement, medical care providers, fire department, or other emergency services agencies. Use of two-way radios and push-to-talk devices are allowed when driving certain farm and agricultural vehicles and trucks such as emergency tow trucks.
Violations. Law enforcement officers may pull over drivers suspected of violating this law. Drivers who violate the cell phone use and driving law face a base fine of $20 for a first offense and $50 for each subsequent offense.
Reading, composing, or sending text-based messages while driving a motor ...