Cell phones. In Maryland, the Communications Traffic Safety Act of 2010 prohibits the use of handheld cell phones or wireless communication devices while operating a vehicle. Violators will be fined $40 for a first offense and $100 for subsequent offenses (MD Code Sec. 21-1124.2).
The use of any cell phone or wireless communication device by school bus drivers and any drivers aged 18 and younger is prohibited.
Texting. Maryland's Texting While Driving Law prohibits reading and sending text messages while operating a vehicle. This means that drivers in Maryland must pull off the road and stop the vehicle in order to send or read texts (MD Code Sec. 21-1124.1 et seq.).
Violation of this law is considered a primary offense and misdemeanor crime under Maryland law, meaning that police officers are allowed to pull over and ticket drivers they believe are texting.
Drivers caught texting are fined $75 and receive 1 point against their driver's licenses. Drivers determined to have caused an accident by texting while driving are fined $175 and receive 3 points against their driver's licenses.
Accidents resulting in death or serious injury. Effective October 1, 2014, a person who violates the Texting While Driving Law resulting in the death or serious bodily injury to another person or persons is, upon conviction, guilty of a felony and subject to 1-year imprisonment and a fine of $5,000, or both, as well as 12 points against his or her driver’s license (MD Code Sec. 21-1124.3 ).
Drivers under the age of 18 caught texting while driving face a possible 90-day suspension of their driver's license and other restrictions to their license to drive.
Exemptions. Drivers who text an emergency message to 911 or a hospital or ...