New Hampshire Telephones: What you need to know

New Hampshire currently does not have a law specifically against the use of cell phones while driving. Driving impaired by the distraction of cell phone use would violate the law against reckless driving (NH Rev. Stat. Sec. 265:79). The minimum fine for reckless driving is $250.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
A motorist who uses two hands to type a text message or operate an electronic telecommunications device while driving violates the law (NH Rev. Stat. Sec. 265:105-a).
Entering a phone number or an address into a cell phone or global positioning system is not currently considered a violation of this law.
Effective July 1, 2015, the "Use of Mobile Electronic Devices While Driving; Prohibition" amends the law prohibiting the use of handheld mobile devices to:
• Read, compose, view, or post any electronic message
• Initiate, receive, or conduct a conversation
• Initiate a command or request to access the Internet
• Input information into a global positioning system or navigation device, or
• Manually type a date into any other portable electronic device.
Any motorist found with a handheld device near his or her ear while driving will be presumed to be making a call under the law.
The law applies whether the vehicle is in motion or is stopped in traffic. However, motorists may use such devices when the vehicle is completely stopped and pulled off the road.
Exemptions. Calling 911 or the number of a law enforcement agency, fire department, or emergency medical provider is exempt from the law, as is the use of emergency two-way radios.
Violations. Violators of the law will be subject to a $100 fine plus a penalty assessment to their driver’s licenses for a first ...

>> Read more about Telephones

Related Topics

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

New Hampshire Telephones Resources

Telephones Products

HR Redi2Use Library Social Networking, Privacy and Internet Policies
Do you have policies in place that enable your employees to take advantage of today's technology, improve your companies position and protect productivity during work hours? "
Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE HR Management Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Critical HR Recordkeeping

Record retention is complex and time consuming. However, in addition to complying with various federal and state laws, keeping good, well-organized records can be very helpful in documenting and supporting an organization’s employment actions.
Download Now!

This special report will discuss how you can ensure your records are in good order, and establish a record-retention policy.

Topics covered:
1. Hiring Records
2. Employment Relationships
3. Termination Records
4. Litigation Issues
5. Electronic Information Issues
6. Tips for Better Recordkeeping
7. A List of Legal Requirements

Make sure you have the information you need to know to keep your records in order.