|

New Jersey Telephones: What you need to know

New Jersey bans talking or listening on handheld cell phones or other wireless electronic communication device while driving. All drivers are also prohibited from texting, sending or reading electronic messages, or playing video games while driving (NJ Rev. Stat. Sec. 39:4-97.3 et seq.).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE HR Report on the "Critical HR Recordkeeping”.  This exclusive special report covers hiring records, employment relationships, termination records, litigation issues, electronic information issues, tips for better recordkeeping, and a list of legal requirements.  Download Now
Violations. Effective July 1, 2014, fines for violation of this law are raised from $200 to $400 for a first offense, and $400 to $600 for a second offense, and up to $800 for subsequent offenses, plus court costs.
Drivers violating this law receive 3 points against their driver's license for each offense and after a third offense, a possible 90-day suspension of the license unless 10 years have passed since the previous offense.
Exception. A driver is allowed to a use wireless communicating device to report an accident or medical emergency, fire, traffic accident, road hazard, or unsafe or reckless driver who appears to be under the influence of drugs or alcohol, or if the driver has reason to fear for his or her own life or safety. The driver's cell phone records or the testimony or written statement may be necessary as evidence to prove the necessity of the call.
School bus and public transit drivers and train operators are prohibited from talking on any type of cell phone or wireless electronic communication device, texting, or using any electronic device while operating a vehicle.
Prosecution. The "Kulesh, Kubert and Bolis’ Law" provides for full prosecution of any motor vehicle operators driving recklessly because they are using a cell phone or other device. Drivers using handheld cell phones who cause injury or death in a serious accident can be prosecuted for assault by vehicle or criminal homicide. ...

>> Read more about Telephones

Related Topics

More on this topic:

State Requirements

National | Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming |

New Jersey Telephones Resources

Telephones Products

HR Redi2Use Library Social Networking, Privacy and Internet Policies
Do you have policies in place that enable your employees to take advantage of today's technology, improve your companies position and protect productivity during work hours? "
Free Special Reports
Get Your FREE HR Management Special Report. Download Any One Of These FREE Special Reports, Instantly!
Featured Special Report
Claim Your Free Copy of Critical HR Recordkeeping

Record retention is complex and time consuming. However, in addition to complying with various federal and state laws, keeping good, well-organized records can be very helpful in documenting and supporting an organization’s employment actions.
Download Now!


This special report will discuss how you can ensure your records are in good order, and establish a record-retention policy.

Topics covered:
1. Hiring Records
2. Employment Relationships
3. Termination Records
4. Litigation Issues
5. Electronic Information Issues
6. Tips for Better Recordkeeping
7. A List of Legal Requirements

Make sure you have the information you need to know to keep your records in order.