Oregon's Family Leave Act (OFLA) requires covered employers to grant eligible employees unpaid time off for a variety of family- and health-related reasons. (OR Rev. Stat. Sec. 659A.150 et seq., OR Admin. Rules 839–009–0200 et seq.).
The Act covers employers (public and private) with 25 or more employees in Oregon for each working day during each of 20 or more calendar workweeks, either in the calendar year the leave is taken or in the immediately preceding calendar year.
To be eligible for parental leave (leave to care for an infant or newly adopted child under the age of 18, a newly placed foster child under the age of 18, or an adopted or foster child over the age of 18 who is incapable of self-care due to disability, an employee must have been employed by the covered employer for at least 180 days immediately before the commencement of leave.
Employees seeking OFLA leave for all other qualifying reasons must also work an average of at least 25 hours per week for the covered employer during the 180 days immediately preceding the date on which family leave would commence.
Employees should be employed in the state of Oregon on the date OFLA begins but need not solely work in the state of Oregon.
Employees may take family leave for the following reasons:
(a). Parental leave: To care for an infant or newly adopted child under 18 years of age, for a newly placed foster child under 18 years of age, or for an adopted or foster child older than 18 years of age if the child is incapable of self-care because of a mental or physical disability (within 12 months of the birth, adoption, or placement).
(b). To care for a family member with a serious ...