Vermont Sick Leave laws & compensation compliance analysis

Vermont Sick Leave: What you need to know

Effective January 1, 2017, state law requires all employers doing business or operating within the state to allow eligible employees to accrue and use earned sick time (EST) (VT Stat. Tit. 21 Sec. 481 et seq.).
Accrual and use of leave. Effective January 1, 2017, eligible employees will accrue 1 hour of EST for every 52 hours worked.
From January 1, 2017, until December 31, 2018, an employer may limit the amount of EST that may be accrued and used to 24 hours in a 12-month period.
After December 31, 2018, an employer may limit the amount of EST that may be accrued and used to 40 hours in a 12-month period.
For full-time exempt employees, an employer may limit the number of hours in each workweek for which full-time exempt employees may accrue EST to 40 hours.
If an employee’s absence is shorter than a normal workday, the employee must use accrued EST in the smallest time increments that the employer’s payroll system uses to account for other absences or that the employer’s paid time off (PTO) policy permits.
The EST law does not require an employer to permit an employee to use EST in increments that are shorter than 1 hour.
Eligible employee. An employee is eligible for EST if he or she is employed for an average of no less than 18 hours per week during a year. For exceptions, see section on Exempt employees below.
Waiting period. An employer may require a waiting period for newly hired employees of up to 1 year. During this waiting period, an employee must be allowed to accrue EST but may be prohibited from using the EST until after he or she has completed the waiting period.
Compensation. EST must be compensated at a rate that is equal to the greater of either the normal hourly wage rate of the employee ...

Read more about Sick Leave


Vermont Sick Leave Resources

Type Title
Forms Paid Time Off (PTO)
White Papers Working While Sick: Not Smart
See all Sick Leave Resources