Minnesota Hours of Work laws & compensation compliance analysis

Minnesota Hours of Work: What you need to know

Minnesota places strict limits on the hours that may be worked by children under the age of 18, especially children of compulsory school age.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Locomotive engineers and fire tenders may not remain on duty for more than 14 consecutive hours. At least 9 hours must then be allowed for rest before such employees may be required to return to duty.
Employees involved in the movement of rolling stock may not be on duty for more than 16 hours during any 24-hour period. At least 8 hours must then be allowed for rest before such employees may be required to return to duty (MN Stat. Sec. 181.28, Sec. 181.29).
Hospitals and licensed healthcare facilities may not take action against a nurse for refusing to accept an assignment of additional consecutive hours in excess of the normal work period because the nurse believes working the additional hours will jeopardize patient safety. A nurse may be scheduled for duty or required to continue on duty for more than one work period in an emergency.

Read more about Hours of Work