Florida Minimum Wage laws & compensation compliance analysis

Florida Minimum Wage: What you need to know

You can find your state’s minimum wage rate and tip credit laws at http://hr.blr.com/state-comparison-charts/Updated-Minimum-Wage-Chart.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Employers that violate the Florida minimum wage laws may be subject to a civil lawsuit by the employee. A prevailing employee may recover double the amount of wages owed as well as attorney's fees and costs. Employers that willfully violate the minimum wage provisions may be required to pay a fine of $1,000 for each violation. An employee must file a claim within 4 years of the violation or 5 years if the violation is willful.
Employers covered by the Florida minimum wage must post a notice of the Florida minimum wage in a conspicuous and accessible place in each establishment where covered employees work (FL Stat. Sec. 448.109). This poster requirement is in addition to the federal requirement to post a notice of the federal minimum wage. Florida’s minimum wage poster is available for downloading in English and in Spanish from the Department of Economic Opportunity’s website at http://www.floridajobs.org.
Employers that are covered by the FLSA must post a notice outlining the federal requirements. The federal poster is available from the U.S. Department of Labor website at http://www.dol.gov.
The federal notice is also available from:
Jacksonville District Office
U.S. Department of Labor
ESA Wage and Hour Division
400 West Bay Street, Room 956, Box 017
Jacksonville, FL 32202
904-359-9292
866-487-9243 (toll-free)

Read more about Minimum Wage


Florida Minimum Wage Resources

Type Title
White Papers Raising the minimum wage: The discussion continues
See all Minimum Wage Resources