Georgia Minimum Wage laws & compensation compliance analysis

Georgia Minimum Wage: What you need to know

You can find your state’s minimum wage rate and tip credit laws at http://hr.blr.com/state-comparison-charts/Updated-Minimum-Wage-Chart.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
The following are exempt from the state minimum wage law (GA Code Sec. 34-4-3):
• Employers with annual sales of $40,000 or less
• Employers with five or fewer employees
• Farm owners, sharecroppers, or land renters
• Domestic employees
• Tipped employees
• Newspaper carriers
• High school or college students
• Residents of a nonprofit child-caring institution, or long-term care facility serving children or mentally disabled adults who receive board and lodging from such institution, and are paid cash wages totaling at least $10,000 per year.
The state labor commissioner is authorized to grant exemptions to certain categories of businesses to permit employers to pay workers with disabilities and other eligible employees at a rate below the minimum, but the employer must obtain the authorization from the commissioner before hiring anyone at less than the minimum (GA Code Sec. 34-4-4).
Employers that have at least one employee who is covered by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) must post a notice outlining the federal minimum wage requirements. This notice is available on the federal Wage and Hour Division's website at http://www.dol.gov/whd. or by contacting:
U.S. Department of Labor
61 Forsyth Street Southwest
Atlanta, GA 30303
866-487-9243 (toll-free)

Read more about Minimum Wage


Georgia Minimum Wage Resources

Type Title
White Papers Raising the minimum wage: The discussion continues
See all Minimum Wage Resources