Vermont Overtime laws & compensation compliance analysis

Vermont Overtime: What you need to know

Employers in Vermont must pay overtime to each employee in the amount of 11/2 times the employee's regular rate for hours worked in excess of 40 in a workweek.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
The following are exempt from Vermont's overtime provisions (VT Stat. Tit. 21 Sec. 383, Sec. 384):
• Retail or service employees in an establishment where 75 percent of the annual volume of sales of goods or services, or of both, is not for resale and is recognized as retail sales or services in the particular industry
• Employees of an amusement or recreational establishment if it does not operate for more than 7 months in any calendar year, or if during the preceding calendar year its average receipts for any 6 months of that year were not more than 1/3 of its average receipts for the other 6 months of the year
• Hotel, motel, or restaurant employees
• Certain employees of hospitals, public health centers, nursing homes, maternity homes, therapeutic community residences, and residential care homes
• Taxi drivers
• Those employees of a political subdivision of the state
• State and federal employees
• Students
• Newspaper carriers
• Agricultural employees
• Domestic servants in or about a private home
• Any individual employed by a publicly supported nonprofit organization (except laundry employees, nurses' aides, or practical nurses)
• Outside salespeople
• Administrative, executive, and professional employees (as defined by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act)

Read more about Overtime


Vermont Overtime Resources

Type Title
Checklists Trainees Checklist
Forms Overtime Authorization Form
Policies Overtime
White Papers What Good Is Comp Time If You Can't Take It?
See all Overtime Resources