Oklahoma Part-time Employees laws & compensation compliance analysis

Oklahoma Part-time Employees: What you need to know

Part-time employees not on permanent status are exempt from application of the state Minimum Wage Act, which requires employers to pay the federal minimum wage (40 OK Stat. Sec. 197.4et seq.). For purposes of this exemption, a “part-time employee” is defined as anyone who works less than 25 hours a week (40 OK Stat. Sec. 197.4(e)). The law does not specifically define what "not on permanent status" means. Employers must pay part-time employees who qualify for the exemption at least $2 per hour.
Note: The exemption does not apply to employees covered by the federal minimum wage. Most part-time employees are covered by the federal requirement.

Read more about Part-time Employees

State Requirements

National | National | Oklahoma |

Oklahoma Part-time Employees Resources

Type Title
White Papers Older Workers in Demand
See all Part-time Employees Resources