Idaho Paychecks laws & compensation compliance analysis

Idaho Paychecks: What you need to know

Payment must be at least monthly. Regular pay periods must be designated in advance by the employer, and payment must be made not more than 15 days after the end of the pay period. If the regular payday falls on a nonworkday, payment must be made on a preceding workday (ID Code Sec. 45-608). Employers may face a civil penalty of up to a $500 fine per pay period if they follow a consistent pattern of untimely payment of wages to their employees.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Wages must be paid in cash, by check, or by direct deposit. Employers that pay their employees by check must provide for check cashing, without charge, at a bank or elsewhere (ID Code Sec. 45-608). Idaho does not have a law expressly restricting a private employer from paying via a payroll card.
Direct deposit. Employers may deposit employees' wages directly into a bank or other financial institution, provided that the employee has voluntarily authorized the deposit (ID Code Sec. 45-608). The employee may revoke this authorization.Employers cannot require employees to receive their pay via direct deposit.
No deductions may be made from wages, except deductions that are required by law, such as Social Security, income tax, and deductions that are authorized in writing by the employer and are for a lawful purpose (ID Code Sec. 45-609).
At the time of hiring, employers must notify employees of the rate of pay and the regular payday designated by the employer and must provide the information in writing to the employee upon the employee's request. Employers must notify their employees of any reduction in wages for each pay period before the work being performed and must provide the ...

Read more about Paychecks