Mississippi Paychecks laws & compensation compliance analysis

Mississippi Paychecks: What you need to know

Manufacturing businesses with 50 or more employees and public service corporations must pay their employees at least twice each month, every other week, or on the second and fourth Saturdays of the month (MS Code Sec. 71-1-35). Pay must be distributed within 10 days of the close of each pay period (15 days for public service corporations). This requirement does not apply to bona fide executive, administrative, and professional employees.
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
Wages must be paid by cash, check, or draft. An employer may not deduct amounts from an employee's wages unless required or permitted by law or authorized by the employee in writing.
Manufacturing employers may pay their employees in trade checks, coupons, or other written documents, but they must allow employees to redeem the item in cash, on or after payday, for face value, minus any amount that may be owed by the employee to the employer. An employer that fails to pay the employee in cash on time may face a fine of an additional 25 percent on the face value of the check if the amount claimed is $100 or less (MS Code Sec. 71-1-39).
Employers that violate the state's wage payment laws may be fined up to $250 for each offense. Each day's violation constitutes a separate offense (MS Code Sec. 71-1-53).
Wages remaining unclaimed by an employee for more than 5 years are presumed to be abandoned property. Employers holding abandoned property are required to file a report with the state treasurer of Mississippi on or before November 1 of any year in which a report is required and every 3 years thereafter (MS Code Secs. 89-12-15, 89-12-23).

Read more about Paychecks