Kansas Wage and Hour Investigations laws & compensation compliance analysis

Kansas Wage and Hour Investigations: What you need to know

In order for the state's secretary of human resources (or his or her authorized representative) to enter a place of business to inspect employment records, the secretary must have received a written complaint from an employee who claims to be aggrieved under the state's wage and hour provisions. Upon entering a place of employment, the secretary has the power to inspect and copy all books, registers, payrolls, and other wage-related records and to question employees (KS Rev. Stat. Sec. 44-1206).
For a Limited Time receive a FREE Compensation Market Analysis Report! Find out how much you should be paying to attract and retain the best applicants and employees, with customized information for your industry, location, and job. Get Your Report Now!
An employer may be fined between $250 and $1,000 for violating the state's minimum wage and maximum hour provisions or for discharging or discriminating against an employee because that employee made a complaint, or testified, or is about to testify in such a proceeding (KS Rev. Stat. Sec. 44-1210).
Unpaid wages. If an employer fails to pay an employee the applicable wages and overtime compensation, the employer must pay the amount of wages and overtime compensation still due, costs, and reasonable attorney's fees (KS Rev. Stat. Sec. 44-1211).

Read more about Wage and Hour Investigations


Kansas Wage and Hour Investigations Resources

Type Title
White Papers Increased Complaints, Enforcement, Warrant FLSA Changes
See all Wage and Hour Investigations Resources